2 Comments

Love the idea of asking the librarian! Firstly because they (generally) love to be asked, secondly, modeling that bravery it takes to go up to another human and say “I don’t know the answer to this, can you help me?” Is so crucial to teaching kids about human connection and knowledge sharing and I even wish I was better at this! Especially in the age of phones when everyone has answers in their pocket so they don’t always ask the questions.

Expand full comment
author

Yes, I remember the first time I ever asked a librarian a question and I was so nervous, I stammered out my question. Well lo and behold, she was incredibly kind and helpful and that opened Pandora's box to many, MANY questions I asked her over the years.

I really love this challenge for the opportunity it presents to learn on so many fronts! Let me know if you give it a whirl :)

Expand full comment